Getting a grip on makehuman

I originally wrote this on G+ as a quick guide for my good friend Leighton Marjoram. However, I have a mind like a sieve so I’d better post it here too -for future reference, if nothing else!

+Leighton Marjoram…I suspect you’re way ahead of me on all this; but all the same I’ll type out the workflow I’ve figured out.

First, I grabbed rigs.zip from this post: http://www.makehumancommunity.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=12495#p31607 and put it into the makehuman\v1\data folder (overwriting what was there).

Then I grabbed makehuman and blender (again) -Makehuman 1.1.1 works ok for me.

I edited the figure to be as close as I could get it and then set the geometry to use opensim rigging. I did that by clicking the “pose/animate” tab and then picking the “skeleton” tab and picking the “opensim” item from the rig list on the right of the screen.

After that, I went to poses and selected the T pose (click the ‘rest’ box and the t pose will be the only one left).

To export, click ‘files’ then ‘export’ and change the following settings;
*mesh format:* colloda (dae)
*options:* feet on the ground
*orientation:* Z up, face X
*Bone Orientation:* local = global
*Scale Units:* meters

and saved it to a dae file.

I load this file in blender and then immediate export it to a different collada file. I’m not sure but it seems like blender adjusts the model during conversion and I’ve had better luck loading it in opensim …even tho it seems like a gratuitous, extra step.

When exporting I simple pick “SL + Open Sim Rigged”, type a new name, then hit ‘export’.

For importing, I guide the mesh uploader to the blender exported file and pick “avatar attachment” from the “this model represents” drop-down menu.

I pick “high” under the physics tab and click ‘analyze’.

Then I go to ‘upload options’. I don’t bother uploading textures (it doesn’t seem to work -probably because of something I’m neglecting to do in blender?) but I check the “include skin weight” and “include joint posistion” boxes. I do NOT check the lock scale option -it seems to result in deformed avatars (at least for me).

Mind you all of this “works for me” *…today.* That might change tomorrow; I’m still figuring things out. But I’ve uploaded a few avatars and this should give you a general workflow to work from -even if you need to tweak a few things here and there.

[Update] I should mention a few things here:

Number one -this process is still very much something I’m figuring out. For instance, sometimes something will upload, sometimes it won’t -sometimes it’ll upload if I reload it. I’m still perfecting this/working out the bugs so this should be taken as a **general** guide.

After uploading, you should attatch the object to your *Avatar Center* attachment position.

If you don’t have a full body alpha layer -this is the time to create one. It should be easy to do (in firestorm it is, at least).

After you’ve got it attached, click on the object’s link in “worn” and click “edit”. You’re going to need to find the textures that go with the dae from makehuman. they should be in makehuman\data\v1\exports\graphics …or wherever you saved the dae file at. From there you’ll have to upload the textures you need and then add the hair, eyebrows, etc one by one using “select face”. It sounds a lot more involved than it really is -practice makes perfect! 🙂

Special mention goes to this thread by Joey Aboma, where Aine Caoimhe’s posts helped point me in the right direction: https://plus.google.com/103339622901084181366/posts/4tbpo6k3pmx
About hanheld

I'm a virtual world resident; I build, I organise, blog and play with server software (so far whitecore sim and opensim).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting a grip on makehuman

  1. Hi Han, I thought I would comment here. I am having a problem around this point in your instructions:

    “I load this file in blender and then immediate export it to a different collada file. I’m not sure but it seems like blender adjusts the model during conversion and I’ve had better luck loading it in opensim …even tho it seems like a gratuitous, extra step.”

    My avatars seem to be distorted or flattened not sure what is going on there. Any suggestions.

    • hanheld says:

      I’m not sure -I’ve noticed a little distortion/bumpiness. I keep my LOD cranked pretty high though -at least 4. That’s all I can think of to suggest.

  2. hanheld says:

    Another thing I’m noticing is that I’ll have to do different things for different files, and have to make multiple tries on the *same* file. There’s an inordinate amount of trial and error which I assume I wouldn’t be going through if I knew what I was doing… >.>

  3. Ada Radius says:

    Nice, thank you!
    I think there’s a known bug that we can’t upload textures with a rigged attachment; the textures have to be uploaded separately.

    • hanheld says:

      Ah! I had no idea …the things I don’t know about mesh could fill the library of congress, tho. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

Comments are closed.