Experiment gone …mediocre

I’ve lost count of how many fucking times I’ve found myself on G+ whining about having to set things up again because I had to reinstall blah blah …that’s the price you pay when one of your hobbies is tinkering with os’s, but I had an idea that could end up mitigating that.

I’m experimenting with running everything –firefox, mp3s off of a virtual machine. The downsides are pretty bad, but I have half an idea.

Using SSH you can run an application on your local computer even tho their binaries live on a remote computer. How many fucking times have I come on here whining about having to set things up again because I had to reinstall blah blah?

I’m experimenting with running everything –firefox, mp3s off of a virtual machine. The downsides are pretty bad, but I have half an idea.

Using SSH you can run an application on your local computer even tho their binaries live on a remote computer.

I have a linux VM I host my regions on, and I tried installing Singularity on it and logging into SL. It worked -really poorly! 4fps on low poorly.

So, yeah -that didn’t work, but I’m not giving up on the idea entirely. I am going back to the drawing board for now…

About hanheld

I'm a virtual world resident; I build, I organise, blog and play with server software (so far whitecore sim and opensim).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.