Announcing …LuserFest ’15!

2015 has been a year of great loss. Two core comitters, the Overte organisation, Fleep and Fleepgrid and the notable absence of a 2015 OSCC are just some of the losses that the OpenSimulator scene has endured this year.

Churn in open source projects is nothing new, even Linus has “hit by a bus” plans for being replaced. I’ve been called out and told in detail that the current core team is active and working towards new developments, and apart from the source code side of things the hypergrid and attendant grids have experienced record growth in the last couple of years.

Still, though …no OSCC.  Hey, man -that’s fine by me!

I’ve never liked OSCC, straight up, and I’ll tell you why. I’ve always felt that the OSCC was too closed, and too elite. Far too concerned with professionals strutting around trying to impress other professionals and what cool-ass stuff they’re doing. There was zero focus on end users and it felt to me as if we were a nuisance that they had to endure (or, worse yet, SELL SELL SELL to). I didn’t go last year, I wouldn’t go this  year, even if it was occurring.

Still, I think our platform is worth celebrating and being the old punk I am I feel that the departure of the enterprise demographic clears the stage and gives us regular people a chance to shine!

So it’s with that in mind that I am nervous as fuck to announce the very first “LuserFest”. LuserFest will be a 4 day (Nov 13-16) Festival to celebrate the vibrancy of the opensim community and it’s users. A lot of the details will depend on the reaction this idea gets, but I will be setting up a region on Digiworldz (either a 2×2 or a single region -depending on the response) and I will invite people to set up small exhibits, network or just come by, hang out and see who your virtual neighbors are.

In terms of exhibits, I’d like people to either set up a small showcase of their wares, or …ideally… set up a small exhibit showing off something involving opensim that they think is cool.

There will be a dance floor, of course, but it’s doubtful that there will be presenters (I doubt I’ll even be able to scare up a DJ!) -this party is gonna be for us, the people who come on each day and talk to each other and use the platform to enhance our lives.

As they say, I’m raising this up the flagpole and seeing who salutes. Whether it’s with 1 other person or with one thousand, I’m looking forward to celebrating the opensimulator/hypergrid community with you this November.

About hanheld

I'm a virtual world resident; I build, I organise, blog and play with server software (so far whitecore sim and opensim).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.