More fun in the virtual world…

I just wrapped up my SL11B build a couple days ago, the day before the deadline actually. I’m feeling burned out and I need a break.

I spend a lot of time on G+ and SLU (and have for a while) -there’s been a couple of interesting posts involving blender on G+.

Over on the G+ page for “Selea’s World”, Selea Core posted a great tutorial explaining how to export items, load them into blender, link them, and then re-import them into opensim. You can read the tutorial here: https://plus.google.com/100151475642513148479/posts/TGAaj3ghAJt

Som C (aka “Method in madness”) did a great video tutorial on texturing in opensim, which I’m still digesting -you can watch it here:

photo of Han Held in front of several items converted from prim to mesh

Han Held on the dock of the bay

This was taken today, after I’d converted several items in the picture, saving approximately 300 prims. Opensim doesn’t enforce prim limits YET -however, they might in the future and for that reason it’s important to build within the traditional limits established by the SL protocol.

So here’s the “workflow” I have established so far based on what I’ve learned:

1)look at the build I want to convert, and break it down by texture (the house in the background I converted in three sections; cement, wood and glass).

2)export each section into seperate DAE files, [eg “house (cement).dae, house(wood).dae,house(glass).dae]

3)import each section seperately into blender

4)everything should already be selected, so I simply press “ctrl-j” to join them

5)go over to the materials tab and look to see how many materials are assigned, reduce the number down to 8 or less (thanks to Zauber Paracelsus for pointing that out to me on G+)

6)export it, append “-mesh” or something to the end of the file name (eg. “house(wood)-mesh.dae”)

7)Import it in whatever viewer I’m using.

8)Inworld, I apply the texture to it. Usually this means setting the mapping to planar mapping and then playing with the scale until it looks right.

..and that’s that!

I’m fighting the urge to go over my whole region and convert everything.

What I like about this workflow, even though the results will not look esp polished, is that I’m still doing most of the work in-world; which to me is the whole point of being inworld. I also like that going this route is resulting in an “old-school prim” look (mostly due to my lack of building skills).

About hanheld

I'm a virtual world resident; I build, I organise, blog and play with server software (so far whitecore sim and opensim).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.