Nice map tiles in opensim.

By default, Opensim (since roughly 0.7.1) has shipped with the map settings set so that terrains load, but prims are big, blocky black spots.

Today I was putzing around with 0.7.4-rc1 and decided to see if I could fix the map. So I asked around in #osgrid how they did it. Someone named RiRa mentioned the warp3d module and Nebadon said I could toggle that in the maptile settings at the end of the [startup] section of OpenSim.ini.

That didn’t quite get me the results I wanted, so I took a look at how osgrid does it in their opensim ini.

Below is the section that will get you the awesome maptiles that osgrid uses. I’ve highlighted in bold the parts that need to be copied and pasted into OpenSim.ini. This works in 0.7.4-rc1, 0.7.3.1 (I’ve been told) and might work in 0.7.3 and 0.7.2 -but I haven’t tried it.

(You’ll find the following between the lines for DefaultScriptEngine and HttpProxy in the [startup] section of your opensim.ini, only the first two lines need to be added -the rest are already there and can be modified):

  WorldMapModule = “WorldMap”
    MapImageModule = “Warp3DImageModule”

;; Map tile options. You can choose to generate no map tiles at all,
;; generate normal maptiles, or nominate an uploaded texture to
;; be the map tile
GenerateMaptiles = true

;; If desired, a running region can update the map tiles periodically
;; to reflect building activity. This names no sense of you don’t have
;; prims on maptiles. Value is in seconds.
; MaptileRefresh = 0

;; If not generating maptiles, use this static texture asset ID
; MaptileStaticUUID = “00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000”

;# {TextureOnMapTile} {} {Use terrain textures for map tiles?} {true false} true
;; Use terrain texture for maptiles if true, use shaded green if false
; TextureOnMapTile = true

;# {DrawPrimOnMapTile} {} {Draw prim shapes on map tiles?} {true false} false
;; Draw objects on maptile.  This step might take a long time if you’ve
;; got a large number of objects, so you can turn it off here if you’d like.
; DrawPrimOnMapTile = true

==end cut and paste==

About hanheld

I'm a virtual world resident; I build, I organise, blog and play with server software (so far whitecore sim and opensim).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.