Inspired? Maybe!

Hello everybody!

I read a lot of forums and stuff related to secondlife, and one of the things I read is a blog by Imnotgoing Sideways, and in a recent post Immy said that she was having some problems with making movies.

…and that one of the things she uses is Movie Maker. Imagine that -movie maker! I had no idea that you could even do that! I have an increasing blindspot when it comes to new technology like making videos and I’d always assumed that the people who make mechinimas used expensive, or at least hard to get software.

So, Immy’s post inspired me to find a solution that would work for me. Sadly, I didn’t find it. What I did find, tho, was vlc. With VLC you can capture a stream from your desktop (which is what I did) so I tried setting that up and running a skating animation in secondlife while I listened to some music and filmed it.

It was a rousing fail. I think that either the entire idea is fucked, or at best I need to google and look at what other people use for a capture framerate.

STILL THO -it was a fun project to take on, and I’m far from daunted. In fact I feel intrigued. I’m going to keep playing with this and see if I can figure out how to do some basic things (crop out and keep only certain parts of the screen being my first priority).

About hanheld

I'm a virtual world resident; I build, I organise, blog and play with server software (so far whitecore sim and opensim).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.